TN school board appreciation Week

Smith County Schools will join other school districts in saluting our local education leaders
during Tennessee’s annual School Board Appreciation Week from January 24-30, 2021.
The week is designed to recognize the contributions made by all school board members, including the Smith County School Board. School boards are given the tremendous responsibility of ensuring the education of Tennessee’s youth.  School board members are elected by their communities to manage the local schools. They oversee multimillion-dollar budgets, which fund education programs for more than 973,659 students in approximately 1,800 schools. Their personnel decisions affect more than 70,000 teachers, administrators and support staff.  These volunteer leaders are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving the curriculum, maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education laws. Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues. Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education. We salute the public servants of the Smith County School Board whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in Smith County possible:  Mark Jones, David Apple, Marty McCaleb, Joe E. Taylor, Tommy Manning, Ricky Shoulders, Brian Smith,  and Scotty Lewis.  Please join us by saying thank you to our school board members during Tennessee’s School Board Appreciation Week!